Post-election hangover

The day has been spent in a post-election haze. Though it’s hard to piece all the events back together, for you, dear reader, I’ll do the best I can.

Election night began at the swanky Belmont bar on Sixth Street where the Texas Tribune hosted its watch party. A free bar and an immensely friendly and proficient young man stood behind it making Margaritas, Sweet Tea Vodkas, Manhattans and Old Fashioneds was likely to lead to trouble.

By about 9:30 p.m. a group decided to move to the local democrat watch party at the Driskill Hotel. By this point the evening was decidedly blurry but suddenly people were cheering and putting arms in the air–Obama had got the crucial swing state of Ohio.

A few minutes later an even bigger cheer went up as the television network confirmed Obama had won the election. An electrifying moment.

From that point all I can remember is walking along streets, then cycling home–in the process falling off my bike somewhere–next the inevitable swirling head followed by kneeling in front of my toilet bowl, getting close and personal with it and being reminded of my mortality.

I woke after a few hours sleep as drunk as a skunk, couldn’t drink any coffee or eat my porridge and had to retreat back to bed. But snug in the knowledge President  and President-Elect Barack Obama would be watching over me for a little longer.

