Zany idea for a Christmas present

Christmas is looming on the horizon posing a potential dilemma for people buying presents with limited funds in their treasure chests.

There is a very good option available in such instances, certainly when buying for younger relatives, that is both economical for the purchaser and beneficial to the recipient: books (yes, they are still out there).

Jacqueline Kelly’s “Return to the Willows,” which I’ve written about for Culture Map Austin, is a fun and upbeat sequel to Kenneth Grahame’s 1908 classic “The Wind in the Willows,” and I’d recommend the book finding its way under a Christmas tree for any relative around 8 years old and upwards

(I’m actually reading the book myself and enjoying it. I still haven’t read the original, having encountered it during my childhood in the form of the wonderfully evocative 1983 animated film)

