Weekend finishes with festive vibe

Fairy lights hung inside my kitchen illuminating a picture of F. Scott Fitzgerald and his wife, Zelda.

Fairy lights hung inside my kitchen illuminating a picture of F. Scott Fitzgerald and his wife, Zelda.

Despite the weekend’s balmy weather, there was a distinctive festive touch to Sunday.

As the church bells of St Mary Cathedral rang out at Brazos and 10th streets, cars with Christmas trees roped to their roofs headed back to homes increasingly decked in twinkling lights around porches.

I popped into Austin’s celestial vision of  what supermarkets might look like in the after life that is Whole Foods Market to pick up copies of Austin Woman magazine and Austin Man magazine.

In the former I have an article about Tracy Claros and how she became the sticky toffee pudding queen of Austin, and in the latter an article about the 50th anniversary of the James Bond film franchise.

A batch of non-multicultural Christmas cards was acquired (sorry, I’ve always had a soft spot for the story of the three wise men trekking all that way in the “very dead of winter,” resting up with their “night-fires going out” before the next day’s undertaking through “cities hostile and the towns unfriendly”) and I finished the day putting up some Christmas lights in my humble writer’s den.

