Song of Heathrow Sirens calling

The quirky island that is Great Britain is calling.

The quirky island that is Great Britain is calling.

Today I’m transitioning back to the motherland for the Christmas break, hence I have my long johns and jumpers (sweaters) ready to break out on landing (am actually wearing already due to Austin feeling pretty parky).

I’ve pigged out to ensure all food in the fridge is finished: one very satisfying breakfast consisted of cinnamon bagels with cream cheese on top and scramble egg atop that–can’t let good food go to waste.

I’m trying not to think about the scratch I gave the ‘stang yesterday or how much it might cost to fix so as not to spoil what should be a festive travelling mood.

But truth be told, heading back to the U.K. always stirs mixed emotions. I’m looking forward to seeing family and old friends, of course, but there are people I hold special in the U.S. and my cubbyhole here in Austin serves as home for most of the year.

So where is home, really, anyhow?

We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive were we started
And know the place for the first time.”

 

 

 

 

