Monks, beers and girls

The Ghost of Christmas Past arrives to force Scrooge to consider what has been in "The Muppet Christmas Carol."

The Ghost of Christmas Past arrives to force Scrooge to consider what has been in “The Muppet Christmas Carol.”

It’s funny the things you find out when you return home. Apparently my old school is now producing a beer for sale: Ampleforth Abbey Beer.

I’m not that surprised. Monks know their stuff–admittedly they have a fair bit of time to mull things over.

And I can’t help feel a little sore. So not only did the monastic school turn co-ed only after I’d left and had 10 years of an all-boys education, now they’re throwing a beer that has God’s blessing into the mix of deprivations experienced all those years ago.

How different everything might have turned out had I been exposed to the delights of wondrous females and celestially-blessed beer during those formative years?

Ah, yes, it’s hard not to ponder such hypotheticals as another year of folly and misadventure draws to a close.

Though give me a life less ordinary any day.

