Christmas colly birds and paper clips

Out in the sticks and under the Yorkshire night sky makes for quite a change to Austin, Texas.

Out in the sticks and under the Yorkshire night sky makes for quite a change to Austin, Texas.

Yes, today is the fourth day of Christmas, when my true love sent to me: four colly birds!

(I’ll confess I’d always thought it “four calling birds” until omniscient Google showed me the light…and yes, I’ve no idea what a colly bird is, either…)

Or, if you are The New Yorker, then: four paper clips!

But though eight days of Christmas are still left, a milestone has been passed for the Jeffrey Christmas as half the beast that is our Stilton cheese slab has now been eaten.

One of the upsides after Christmas Day present opening is that for a few mornings you can wake up and put on brand-spanking-new underwear and socks each time you roll out of bed, like a latter-day Jay Gatsby living the rich man’s dream.

Though it won’t be too long before I’m hoisting my bag of laundry into my ‘stang’s boot (U.S. trans. “trunk”) and driving to the laundrette on Austin’s Airport Boulevard, having resumed the poor man’s dream…

