One diary closes as another opens

Starting the New Year by walking Snaffles and taking a celebratory swig of cranberry gin liqueur from a handy hip flask (a birthday present from 2000, which I decided finally needed a test run).

Starting the New Year by walking Snaffles and taking a celebratory swig of cranberry gin liqueur from a handy hip flask; an unused birthday present all the way from 2000 and which I decided finally needed a test run and not because trying to be a writer turns you into an alcoholic as some claim…of all the crazy notions…

With time on my hands by being at home for New Year’s Eve, I ended up poking my head in the cellar and getting reacquainted with numerous alcohol bottles containing strangely-named and brightly-coloured concoctions lining the shelves.

After blowing away the cobwebs and extracting some from their tomb, the first drink for the night was a Harvey Wallbanger:

2 measures vodka
4 measures fresh orange juice
1 measure Galliano
Orange wedge to garnish

Warmed up and emboldened thanks to Harvey’s namesake, I decided to try a Hong Kong Fizz:

1/2 measure vodka
1/2 measure gin
1/2 measure Benedictine liqueur
1/2 measure Yellow Chartreuse
1/2 mesure Green Chartreuse
1/2 measure fresh lemon juice
4 measures soda water.

The only slight problem was after making and tasting, I noticed the soda water bottle was stamped best before June 2009. So the cocktail lacked somewhat in fizz.

But by 10 p.m. there were plenty of bubbles thanks to popping open the champagne as my parents and I watched Jools Holland’s fine “Hootenanny” on the television, as well as the coverage of midnight fireworks lighting up the sky above London’s Big Ben and St. Thomas’ Hospital–where I was born many New Years ago, bawling and wondering what the hell I’d got myself into.

Entering 2013, I still haven’t quite shaken off that feeling but better in than out any day.

