Time to pack

Recent heavy rains and flooding meant that a route change was required on this dog walk.

Recent heavy rains and flooding meant that a route change was required on Snaffles’s walk.

My excursion to Yorkshire is wrapping up–tomorrow I catch the train back to the  big black smoke that is London, drop my bags off at my sister’s, before heading to Heathrow to meet Big Gay Al and by about  11 p.m. the two of us should be having a drink in Dublin. Phew.

In York I picked up a copy of The Big Issue and last night read a short story in it by the author of “The Alchemist,” Paulo Coelho, called “Things are never what they seem.”

Accompanying the story was a striking illustration of two angel-like figures hovering above Rio de Janeiro and which can be seen at this link.

Back at ground level here in the kitchen the Christmas Stilton cheese slab is on its last legs and nearly vanquished.

Snaffles is curled up on my younger brother’s bed which I’m using as he’s back in Berlin, plus my room is freezing, plus there were workmen coming in this morning to work on the windows in my bedroom, plus there’s more space in his bedroom to lay out my clothes, books and trinkets ready for packing.

Having moved bedrooms, I’ll soon be moving countries and then moving continents back to the USA early new week.

Phew.

