Debonair Brits fare well at Golden Globes

While tough to match Beverly Hills as a venue, Austin's Paramount Cinema on Congress Avenue does a good job of evoking cinematic allure.

While tough to match Beverly Hills as a venue, Austin’s Paramount Cinema on Congress Avenue does a good job of evoking cinematic allure.

Sunday evening was spent watching the televised 70th Golden Globe Awards from Beverly Hills, Calif., where British talent enjoyed a fair run of nominations and successes.

Daniel Day-Lewis won best actor for his role in “Lincoln”; Adele won best original song in a motion picture for “Skyfall”; Damian Lewis won best performance by an actor in a television series drama for “Homeland”; and though he’s not British, as he’s part of the Commonwealth and a good bloke, I’m including Australian Hugh Jackman who won best actor in a motion picture comedy or musical for his role in “Les Misérables.”

Brits Helena Bonham Carter and Sacha Baron Cohen also took to the stage when “Les Misérables” won best picture in the musical or comedy category.

In winners’ acceptance speeches the choice line to give appeared to be “I want to give a shout out to…,” and so in a similar vein I’d like to give shout out to Monica Chadha for letting me come round to hers to watch the ceremony and for her fine Indian cooking that accompanied the viewing.

Today marks a week since the 83rd Texas Legislature started. Opening day was captured by this nifty time lapse video courtesy The Texas Tribune.

I’ve yet to make it to the Capitol in my role as correspondent for the Austin Business Journal, struggling like many a journalist these days to break away from my computer and my inbox to actually smell the fresh air and the story, but I’ll get there before the week is out.

