Postcards from the edge…

Greetings from Suriname, via Hong Kong and Florida.

Greetings from Suriname, via Hong Kong and Florida.

…of extinction might be the most suitable way to describe the art of postcard sending, sadly in decline these days, it seems.

I was about to cycle off when I noticed the flap of my apartment’s mail box flipped open.

Due to the cold I had on a pair of gloves and after sticking my hand into the box I couldn’t feel anything. So I took my gloves off and put my hand back in; again, I couldn’t feel anything, but after wiggling my fingers around I then felt something ever so slight pressed against the inside.

It didn’t have enough bulk to be an envelope and I assumed it was some form of junk mail-advert. But once I had a grasp and pulled it out, holy-moly, it was a postcard (and I think the first I’ve received in five months at my present address), that ancient form of correspondence from yesteryear’s traveller.

A feeling of disproportionate excitement took hold. I don’t know exactly what it is about a postcard that does this…

Perhaps it’s the cursive script by hand providing that all-important human connection and showing that someone cared enough to take a bit of time out for you…

The crinkles and frayed edges indicating a true journey travelled and overcome, as well as tangible experience that’s not floating lost in the Internet ether of vapid abstraction…

Unusual stamps crammed into the corner at rakish angles…

A striking picture of a setting providing a tantalising gateway into a more entrancing dimension than your present circumstances…

Whatever it is, give me this old-school option over an e-postcard any day.

The postcard has come via an interesting international trajectory: bought in Hong Kong, written in Suriname (don’t worry, I’d not heard of it until I met the sender of the postcard at grad-school) and then posted from Florida.

Another nice consequence from receiving a postcard, it makes you think to send one or more on to others.

Perhaps postcards might manage to be around for a bit longer…

One response to “Postcards from the edge…

  1. Pingback: Singapore grips memory into recollections of Hong Kong | blogfromamerica·

Comments are closed.