Not just any old Monday

Round two, Mr. President; make it a good one, sir.

Round two, Mr. President; make it a good one, sir.

Today presented the double-whammy of being Martin Luther King Day and the presidential inauguration in Washington.

Poet Richard Blanco read the inaugural poem, the first Hispanic and openly gay man to do so.

I didn’t get an invite to the inauguration ball–I would have voted for you, Mr. President, if I wasn’t a non-resident alien–so I spent the day in a more low-key manner.

This involved making my inaugural visit to the American icon that is the International House of Pancakes, aka IHOP, at 707 East Cesar Chavez Street.

I didn’t make any speeches though I was suitably impressed–cheap, cozy, hefty choice of pancakes and lots on your plate, rather dodgy-tasting but potent coffee.

Old-school Americana, always pleases; especially if there is someone nice to knock knees with under the booth table.

