It’s a funny old world

Taking a limousine taxi ride from Las Vegas airport to Excalibur Hotel, having flown in with a bunch of army friends from the British Army Training Unit Suffield, Canada, around 2008.

Those were the days: Taking a limousine taxi ride from the Las Vegas airport to the Excalibur Hotel, having flown in with a bunch of army friends from the British Army Training Unit Suffield, Canada, around 2008.

…After the party I cycled back home, mildly wobbly and with a midnight chill against my face.

At the intersection of 11th Street and I-35 a green light was on my side  and I sped through.

To my right a luminous-white Hummer stretch limousine waited at a red and to my left a homeless guy carrying a rucksack and dressed as if he was about to do the Marathon de Sables waited to cross the road.

He saw me and raised an arm in greeting.

I managed to lift my left hand off the handlebar in acknowledgement before I’d raced on by, wondering if perhaps America is just guilty of stripping away the veneer and showing the world for what it is.

