Dipping into Austin’s South by Southwest festival

A nifty techie installation to remind me how far I am behind the technological curve.

A nifty techie installation to remind me how far I am behind the technological curve.

A potential story lead got me peddling with notebook stashed to an event on Sixth Street in the heart of SXSW, where the Geiger counter was picking up serious quantities of hipsters come to Austin to play.

I did my best to melt as much as I could into the hip masses, though my unhip DNA tends to prove too strong and I sensed a couple of disapproving looks directed my way.

That said, everyone I spoke to proved very friendly and energized about being at the festival–currently in the film and interactive phases, with the music starting Tuesday–and experiencing the diverse array of sights, sounds, innovative ideas, music, free booze and hi-tech gizmos on show.

An earlier email from a guy in a soccer group I play with at the weekend mentioned his girlfriend’s mother was running a taco trailer near the corner of Cesar Chavez Street and Interstate highway 35, which was on route peddling back home to a nice mug of hot milk and a good read in bed of J.G. Farrell’s “Siege of Krishnapur” (like I said, the unhip DNA is strong).

Having parked up, I had a very nice bean taco as a late dinner beside the feeder road to the highway, with the lights of downtown Austin’s high rise buildings providing the backdrop as a fire truck sped by at full belt, blaring it’s horns in a race against time toward an emergency somewhere in the city.

Good tacos to be had throughout SXSW at the corner of Bushy Street and IH-35.

Good tacos to be had throughout SXSW at the intersection of Brushy Street and IH-35.

