Strange nocturnal sounds from the swimming pool

A beautiful view: the windsurfing run from the beach to the tip of the headland in the distance.

A beautiful view: the windsurfing run from the beach to the tip of the headland in the distance.

After one night of reveling at the Zeus Bar, I found myself making my way back on my own through the deserted streets of Vasiliki village to the hotel.

Frank had turned in earlier though I’d not gone back with him thinking I’d make a full night of it, before losing my enthusiasm and making my retreat, leaving the soldiers still very enthusiastic for the night.

The group had actually been allocated rooms in an annex a few minutes walk away from the main hotel, and other than one family with a couple of young kids we had the place to ourselves.

I had a ground floor room that backed onto the swimming pool. I checked the alarm clock, it was about 1 a.m., and nestled down for about five hours of sleep before having to get up for another day of windsurfing.

The noise of laughter woke me up. My bleary eyes peered at the alarm clock: 2 a.m.

I recognized the gruff tones of one of the soldiers while gathering the other voice didn’t belong to one of the others as it was decidedly female…(To be continued.)

Almost the full team on a night out in Vasiliki village.

Almost the full team on a night out in Vasiliki village.

