The sounds get more disturbing

The swimming pool being put to more normal use.

The swimming pool being put to more normal use.

(Continued from previous blog)…I heard the two of them make their way into the swimming pool, laughing and splashing around.

It quietened down for a minute, Well, that’s a bit better, I thought; but then it became acoustically clear, thanks to her, that they’d started to have vigorous sex in the pool. Hmm, I thought.

I let out a short sigh, gazing up at the dark ceiling.

She continued to get louder. A lot louder. I wondered about the poor family sharing the annex with us. Whereabouts were they in the building? Could they hear all this? Should I, as his commanding officer, go out and tell the soldier to stand down, so to speak; or perhaps just politely introduce myself to her and then ask if she could turn the volume down a bit.

But that was fraught with risk, I felt, as knowing the soldier to be a friendly soul and rather loyal type, I half suspected he’d greet me with an, “All right there, boss, didn’t think you’d still be up–do you fancy a go?”

Admittedly, the chances of not one of the soldiers from the group deciding on having a romp in the hotel pool at some point during our stay at Vasiliki must have been infinitesimally small if I’d thought about it, so there was little reason to be surprised.

I decided it was best to let them run their course, which they continued to do for some time yet while I gazed interminably at the darkness above me.

A new day brings relief as the soldiers get back to their windsurfing classes.

A new day brings relief as the soldiers get back to their windsurfing class.

