“Can’t repeat the past?” he cried incredulously. “Why of course you can!”

Timmy Hortons: a staple of British military life in Canada.

Tim Hortons: a staple of British military life in Canada.

Strolling around the streets of NYC I was pleasantly surprised to notice Canada-based Tim Hortons coffee and doughnut shops dotted amid the offerings of America’s mainstream.

I’ve always been a bit of a Tim Horton devotee after two years of living and working in Alberta, Canada, while stationed at the British Army Training Unit Suffield.

During that time Tim Hortons provided solace, be it breaking up the long drive from camp through the prairie toward Calgary for a weekend break or simply zoning out over a coffee and a Boston Cream in the Tim Hortons near the cinema in Medicine Hat  during a break from military exercises on the prairie.

But when I finally went into my a Tim Hortons in NYC I found that I’d eaten so many doughnuts at Dunkin’ Donuts during my stay that I couldn’t bring myself to have another one, plus there weren’t any tables to sit at so you couldn’t do any philosophizing while munching your Boston Cream.

It just wasn’t the same and so I wandered dejectedly back out through the entrance onto 42nd Street: didn’t someone say you can’t repeat the past?

