Driving into the Belize jungle in search of…

Getting dirty in Belize.

Getting muddy in Belize.

Writing about Gurkhas and Nepal in my previous two blogs got me thinking about another small country in which the British and their military have long been involved: Belize, formerly known as British Honduras, located on the northeastern coast of Central America.

I went there once while stationed in Canada to help out on a military exercise, which primarily involved me driving around the jungle on my own in an SUV having to rapidly learn and improve my off-road driving  skills. I had a blast.

Among a number of interesting discoveries was a hotel in the middle of the jungle and owned by the famous film director Francis Ford Coppola. I’d heard a little about the hotel previously and was set on making a particular discovery.

Looking above the bar I found what I’d come for: spinning from the roof was the same fan used in “Apocalypse Now” for the opening scene in which Martin Sheen goes bonkers in a Saigon hotel room.

I sat down at the bar, took off my jungle hat and felt the air stirred by the fan moving on my neck…”Every minute I stay in this room, I get weaker, and every minute Charlie squats in the bush, he gets stronger. Each time I looked around the walls moved in a little tighter.”

The fan!

The fan!

