Waking up to wild horses and helicopters

The first thing I saw waking in my hammock slung between the trees in Belize.

The view from my hammock slung between the trees in Belize.

I lived out of the back of my SUV during the exercise in Belize and my nighttime bed was a hammock strung between two trees underneath mosquito netting and a poncho in case of rain.

And it did rain one night–I woke the next morning with a rather soggy jungle sleeping bag after water had collected in the bottom of my hammock. But the sun was already out in force and so my spirits didn’t remain sodden for long.

While I cooked some breakfast–ration pack baked beans and sausages, delicious–on the back flap of the SUV, a pair of horses had their breakfast among the tents and vehicles of the other exercise staff.

Next thing a Lynx helicopter flew into the area to land, adding a slight touch of “Apocalypse Now” to the early morning’s proceedings. I hummed a few bars of “Ride of the Valkyries” as I searched in the boil-in-the-bag with my fork for another tasty sausage.

A Lynx helicopter touches down in the middle of our makeshift camp.

A Lynx helicopter touches down in the middle of our makeshift camp.

