Naked Greeks and resinated wine in Afghanistan

The front of the postcard including a quote from Ulysses: "Come my friends...'Tis not too late to seek a newer world. It may be that the gulfs will wash as down. It may be we shall touch the happy isles. Yet our purpose holds--to sail beyond the sunset."

The front of the postcard including a quote from Ulysses: “Come my friends…’Tis not too late to seek a newer world. It may be that the gulfs will wash as down; it may be we shall touch the happy isles. Yet our purpose holds–to sail beyond the sunset.”

During my 2009 tour in Afghanistan I received a parcel from an old army friend who after leaving the military settled in Athens. Inside the parcel was an eclectic mix: Evelyn Waugh’s novel “Sword of Honour,” a mixture of Greek food stuffs and pictures of naked people.

The back of the postcard accompanying these items read as follows:

Dear Jeffers–

Hope these provide an end-of-tour in sight morale boost, the Evelyn Waugh especially. If you’ve read it already or finished with it, pass it on to the welfare pile–I’ve been meaning to get a new copy anyway. You should chill the retsina (resinated wine), obviously–and remember to squeeze fresh lemon on the Halva, before having it with tea. The nudes I thought you’d enjoy–from one of Athens’ free papers–each week a different amateur. No plans to offer myself, but if I do, I’ll send it on…
All well here (though by the time you get this, I should have sent a proper email).

–Chris

