Back in Austin and Texas

Bruce Springsteen

This cool picture of Bruce Springsteen (part of an exhibition at the Briscoe Center for American History) was taken in 1974 when he visited the counter-culture centre that was the Armadillo in Austin, Texas–where I’ve come back to while taking a break from the rainy season in Ethiopia.

This return to pay my respects to Uncle Sam should also include a road trip and my heading to other places–of which more photos to follow.

As I head into the American hinterland, toward those wide horizons–both uplifting and daunting–I may have the following words of E.E. Cummings in mind:

somewhere i have never travelled,gladly beyond
any experience,your eyes have their silence:
in your most frail gesture are things which enclose me,
or which i cannot touch because they are too near

