Pancakes before going hot with 30-mike-mike

IMG_1958

Having driven a few times around the American southwest now, I’ve ended up going along Highway 8 through Arizona and invariably pulling off to visit the small town of Gila Bend, to make what’s become a pilgrimage of sorts to the Space Age Restaurant.

I can’t quite explain what draws me back there. In 2009 it was where a group of us training for an Afghanistan tour headed for all-American breakfasts before driving out to the nearby range to tear up the sand with 30mm cannons from A-10s dropping down from the azure sky.

Say ‘ello to my little friend…

I guess that period was the last time I was happy in the army, before the shit-storm of Afghanistan and abject failure.

The Space Age Restaurant was empty when I called in at 3 p.m. I had a slice of apple pie and a coffee, before returning to Civvy Street…

